Interview : N-Vitral for the Big Bad Beats 8


Third interview for the 8th edition of our Le Grand Méchant Beat aka Big Bad Beats party on the 6th of April at Glazart, the dutch phenomenon N-Vitral who released smashing tracks on The Third Movement tells everything to the  Party Uniq  crew. (Lisez la traduction française ICI)


photo credit Alexis

Hello, this will be your first performance in Paris. Can you introduce yourself to the French audience ? How did you get to electronic music and hardcore? Do you have a musical background ?

Well, I got into hardcore when I was just twelve or thirteen years old. The scene was at its high point of popularity in The Netherlands back then. Every kid in my street, school or football team was a “gabber”, so it was almost socially inevitable to get into hardcore.

I grew up in a pretty musical family, with, according to my not too trustworthy memory, music playing every day. My mom played all kinds of music like The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac, Jimi Hendrix, The Doors, Serge Gainsbourg, etc… My dad played a lot of old jazz, big bands and bebop, so I guess that’s where my sense of experimentism is rooted. When I was 8 years old, I got cassette tapes from Nirvana, Metallica, Guns ‘n Roses and Pearl Jam from an older guy down the street and started to get addicted to harder and more energetic music, so the leap towards hard electronic music like The Prodigy and hardcore seemed pretty evident back then.

TO READ MORE

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

